A Musical Offering

On the train to downtown this morning, I listened on my ipod to the first two movements of Dvorak’s Piano Trio in F minor, Opus 65. Then the train pulled into the station in the middle of the third movement, and I turned the music off. It’s a beautiful piece, and I wanted to listen to the whole thing before getting down to work, and so I checked the world’s greatest jukebox, youtube, and found this — a video of the third movement posted two weeks ago by a young trio who appear to be based at the music school at SMU in Dallas. If you are looking for a political point, I would note that the cellist is Italian, and the violinist is Lithuanian. Don’t know about the pianist, Elena Zyl, but I’d guess Russian. But no point is intended, just enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: