A Regular Working Lawyer No More

I have ascended to the heights of my profession — I have been allowed to write a big check for the privilege of becoming a Fellow of the ABF. Since this blog teems with ABFer’s, I expect to be treated with a little more respect around here in the future.

5 Responses to A Regular Working Lawyer No More

  1. lbsmom says:

    Hold it! I hadn’t heard any of this big news. Please, Jeff, do tell more. And, congratulations, by the way!

  2. vickywoeste says:

    Wow, Jeff, this makes you hot shit indeed. We are lucky to have you, of course. Thanks for funding my work–I’ll try not to embarrass you!

  3. jeffaregularworkinglawyer says:

    “Hot shit” — Now that’s what I call respect!

    In order to get a little bit of tangible, selfish benefit out of my new role as check writer to the stars of legal academia, I asked the marketing director of my firm to mention my new honorific on my bio on our website. He did this, and also sent around an internal e-mail announcing my new exalted status. One of our younger lawyers actually congratulated me! I responded with one of my favorite quotes, from one of my favorite movies, Chinatown:

    “‘Course I’m respectable. I’m old. Politicians, ugly buildings, and whores all get respectable if they last long enough.”

    The same rule apparently applies to lawyers, too.

  4. laurabethnielsen says:

    Yay! this is my long-term funding plan for the ABF. Meet people in parks, become their friends, go to their house 3,000 times for dinner, and then nominate them to the lofty heights of ABF fellow-dom.

    Now I actually have to pay attention when you tell me about the 4th amendment legal consciousness project you want “someone” to do. How long until we can ask you to endow a chair?

  5. vickywoeste says:

    lb, excellent going on the vision thing.

    Jeff, feel free to suggest projects to me anytime.

Leave a Reply

