FINALLY, THE LEDBETTER BILL IS SIGNED!

Yea!!!  President Obama signed this overdue bill.

3 Responses to FINALLY, THE LEDBETTER BILL IS SIGNED!

  1. jeffaregularworkinglawyer says:

    Judy — You beat me to it. It’s interesting to note that in the Senate, all the Dems (except Kennedy, who was absent for health reasons) voted for it, all four Republican women voted for it, and all the Republican men except Arlen Specter voted against it (Specter voted for it). I imagine that each female Republican senator may have had a personal experience of discriminatory treatment that trumped party loyalty. And Specter may have rediscovered his conscience.

  2. lbsmom says:

    I just happened to be sitting at the computer when CNN announced the signing, Jeff. I’ve been interested in workplace discrimination most of my adult life, which did not began around age 30. It does take a village, but not the ones I encountered until I left Texas! Until then, I’m ashamed to say, I regarded sexist comments as flattering. All those college coaches & players in the athletic offices where I worked to pay tuition were just as ignorant as I. They, however, had the upper hand & knew it. We all knew it—a sad tale.

  3. vickywoeste says:

    Specter faces a vicious reelection battle in 2010, and he is one of an endangered species (the moderate Republican, now extinct in the House). The hard core Rs appear determined not to give Obama any votes on any legislation on which he campaigned, for fear of upsetting the Great Leader Rush Limbaugh and drawing his Great Wrath.

Leave a Reply

