Local politics get ugly

Ok, so I decided I should use my one letter to the editor this fall to try to discredit a local candidate who is a real schmuck.  I’ll spare you the back story, or at least as much as possible.  Here is the letter.  It’s about how he didn’t pay his property taxes on time and how I think that should disqualify him from claiming that he’ll be a “good steward of our tax money” since he shows contempt for legal obligations.  He and his wife are Purdue area slumlords who own many rental properties so they make tons of money off students and are angry at things like overcrowding ordinances being enforced against them.  They also hate anything having to do with social welfare–but they’re really good “Christians” and pillars of their community.

So this morning I get a call from the candidate himself.  He’s furious about my letter and threatening to sue me for slander.  I try to tell him that he’s got it all wrong; it’s libel he wants to go for here, because what I said was in written form, but he’s not listening to me; he’s too busy pointing out that he’s lived here for 62 years.  What’s your point? I ask.  He says that he’s lived here his life.  I say have you paid your taxes every year?  Do you deny failing to pay them or failing to pay them on time?  He won’t say.  He demands to know how long I have lived here.  He starts yelling at me.  I tell him we have nothing further to discuss.  I hang up on him when he won’t stop yelling.  I promptly send a note to all the local Democrats about this exchange.  I also call the newspaper, in the hopes that this incident will persuade them not to endorse him, but I’m told they’ve already made their endorsements, which will appear tomorrow.

Here is a picture of this bully, just so you can have a visual:

basham

4 Responses to Local politics get ugly

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    scary. I love that you correct his legal case for him.

  2. vickywoeste says:

    Really. What a bully. When I asked him if he remembered leaving the offensive phone message 4 years ago at his wife’s opponent’s campaign headquarters, he said he didn’t know who I was talking about (the state rep who defeated his wife for the office TWICE). Then when I corrected him, he said, oh, you mean the guy who takes your tax money and gives it to the poor.

    So now you know what kind of good hearted soul we are talking about. Someone who really walks in the footsteps of Christ . . .

  3. gradmommy says:

    This is great. You were sparing us the back story, but how did you know he didn’t pay his taxes on time?

  4. vickywoeste says:

    His wife ran for statehouse twice, in 2004 and 2006, and it came out the first time she ran (current state rep put it in his ads).

    Guess what: local paper did NOT endorse him. Sometimes the right result happens despite the odds . . .

Leave a Reply

