History

Tonight we saw history being made.  The first African-American candidate for president from a national party.  I must admit, when driving home I heard the report from the convention floor of Hillary Clinton calling for a suspension of the convention rules and for the nomination of Barack Obama by acclamation, I got teary-eyed.  When I got home and watched the video on tv, twice, both times I got teary-eyed again.

I think tonight is a moment we should relish.  That is enough analysis for now.  Let us just take in this moment.

7 Responses to History

  1. gradmommy says:

    Thanks for allowing us just to savor the moment. As soon as it was all over, I had to turn the TV off because I just couldn’t stand the talking heads dissecting each and every part of it.

  2. laurabethnielsen says:

    Jeez — that’s kind of girly, Bob! JUST KIDDING. I bawled. Not merely teary-eyed; I was sobbing. Some secret part of me wondered if Hil might try to highjack the convention and until Nancy Pelosi said the ayes have it, there was some part of me that thought it wouldn’t really happen in my lifetime.

  3. vickywoeste says:

    It was 6:45 p.m. when New Mexico yielded to Illinois. I pulled my kids away from what they were doing and made them watch the live roll call with me. I told them they had to watch this; this was historic; this was the first time a person of color was being nominated by a major party, and they had to remember this. They weren’t sure–they wanted to know what it meant to “yield”–but they definitely got it when the floor went crazy and Nancy Pelosi said that he accepted the nomination. Then they showed delegates in tears and my oldest said, “Mom, this is my election.”

    Historic by 10 orders of magnitude.

    Gradmommy, your fix is easy: turn to C-Span and stay there.

    When I started to read that post, I was certain it was written by LB–way to go Bob, nice to see you get in touch with your inner emotional side, underneath all that Nordic exterior!!!!

    I was even proud of Bill Clinton–he did himself proud, too.

  4. lankdangle says:

    That’s really cool Vicky, we should have made our kids watch too. Tonight for sure. I liked it that the Clintons were not only supporting Barak, but also taking it to Mc Cain.
    I can’t wait for the debates.

  5. laurabethnielsen says:

    Our kids will be watching tonight Lankie — and Gradmommy should move to Chicago — come on!

  6. lbsmom says:

    It’s 100+ degrees today in the east bay of San Francisco, & I couldn’t be happier! Believe me, I notthrilled with the temperature of the air. It’s the climate of the country; I can feel a change, one I have wished for all my life. Driving on the hot freeway & listening to NPR today, all the talk was about Obama’s nomination & what it means to our country. It took me back to my childhood when I got a whipping for riding in the back of the bus in Texas, wanting to sit in the movie balcony with the blacks (not the word used at the time), drinking from the “blacks only” fountain, asking why there were only white kids at my school, etc.

    My dad told me proudly that his dad was in the Ku Klux Klan & had seen a lynching in the town square. I couldn’t understand the phrase, “They need to know their place,” referring, of course, to blacks. My question, both as a child & an adult has remained the same. What place? Was it like my grandmother who believed if God had intended humankind to be on the moon, HE would have put us there? What place? Beneath another human being, less loved by God? Life is precious. Ask the mother of any child of color, especially Barak’s.

    Here’s to a fresh page in US history! I, like Michelle Obama, feel more pride in our country than ever before. Now on to the White House!

  7. vickywoeste says:

    Judy, you just amaze and astound me. What a radical you were–and how courageous. I always knew where LB got it from, but still. You should write more about your childhood–and publish about it. I don’t know how to type a salute but here it is.

Leave a Reply

