could we lose?

OK people . . I am on vacation in Santa Cruz where I went to college. Today I wore my Obama t-shirt while walking around my old college town where there were 2 options: liberal and radical.

TWICE I was the target of street speech about my shirt. Exchange #1 went like this (the guy seemed mentally ill so I stopped myself from answering)

Guy: I don’t like your shirt — Don’t you know Obama sounds like Osama?!?!?!?!

Other interaction involved a car with 4 18 – 20 year old men and women yelling, “Fuck Obama” at me. Clearly not mentally ill. Just stupid. So what’s up? I get 60 year old business people who favor McCain but 20 year old kids? Wow. I am scared.

4 Responses to could we lose?

  1. robertlnelson says:

    I think we have to fasten our seatbelts. This is going to be a tough election. There are many demographic groups who need to get to know BO and see it is in their interest to vote for him, before he can win.

    Santa Cruz, especially around the boardwalk, attracts some folks who won ‘t support BO. Hopefully in CA they will be a minority.

  2. foodgirl says:

    We just have to get him, and all the dems on the Colbert report —

    http://www.swamppolitics.com/news/politics/blog/2008/08/stephen_colbert_candidates.html

    amazing!

  3. vickywoeste says:

    Well, Stephen thinks he should address the Dem Convention–that should pull in some of the uninformed . . .

    It is going to be an ugly race. No doubt about it.

    On the other hand, Gallup just released a poll that has Obama at 48 and McCain at 37. Go beat that with a stick (MOE 4).

  4. laurabethnielsen says:

    Fasten our seat belts indeed. When can I get down to IN to work at your office, Vicky? I gotta get to a state on the edge and do some work.

Leave a Reply

