Oh no she didn’t! And more on superdelegates

Well, she finally played the race card explicitly. Just in case, you didn’t hear, here is how it went down according to USA Today:

“I have a much broader base to build a winning coalition on,” she said in an interview with USA TODAY. As evidence, Clinton cited an Associated Press article “that found how Sen. Obama’s support among working, hard-working Americans, white Americans, is weakening again, and how whites in both states who had not completed college were supporting me.”

“There’s a pattern emerging here,” she said.

Clinton’s blunt remarks about race came a day after primaries in Indiana and North Carolina dealt symbolic and mathematical blows to her White House ambitions.

I think Bob Herbert captures my feelings pretty well.

But I do have one thing to add: You don’t sit down when there is racism this blatant going on. You don’t cave to it. The Democratic Party is going to be the party that ASSUMES white people are too racist to vote for an African-American man? Nice.

Please Hillary – go away before you hurt our party, your own legacy, and Bill’s any further. Bow out. You lost.

Superdelegates: I want their names and phone numbers. Just the ones who have not endorsed either candidate. And not their home numbers, their work phone numbers. And then we need to call on them to get this over with by endorsing Obama. If someone collects the list I will happily post it. It is part of their job and as Democrats, aren’t we allowed to call and lobby them?

2 Responses to Oh no she didn’t! And more on superdelegates

  1. lbsmom says:

    I hadn’t heard all this stuff about the Clinton’s until reading Hebert’s column today. Funny how we never read about Hil’s brothers. I guess I know why now. Hil & Bil sure took a lot from the White House, didn’t they? Is that a symptom of the nouveau rich?

  2. dspett says:

    I was shocked and taken aback by her remark. When I first saw it (in Herbert’s column, which I thought was sort of strange), I wanted to believe she hadn’t actually said it. Maybe I misread something, or Herbert made a mistake.

Leave a Reply

