Never miss your chance…

I have nothing to add.  The video says it all.

7 Responses to Never miss your chance…

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    Well, this seems as good a time as any to announce that Koolaid will be our blogger from Afghanistan.

    And to say that I don’t want you to go. And to say that I wish you would run to Canada or hide in my basement. But, I know that’s not the kind of guy you are.

    So instead, I will say, “thank you.”

  2. vickywoeste says:

    thank you for your service–be careful over there.

  3. nobamakoolaid says:

    I little embarrassing to have LB mention my plans for summer vacation on this particular post. I really wasn’t fishing for any personal accolades. I served as a younger man in the first Gulf War from the deck of a carrier. Now, as a more seasoned young man, I will serve the Navy again as a reservist in this landlocked country. I do not think it is a stretch to say that virtually everybody reading this post is opposed to our continued participation in at least Iraq, if not Afghanistan as well. I can say that for the men and women living the wars each day, it is not about politics; they do not have the luxury. Instead, they watch their own asses and the asses of their brothers and sisters around them. When they get a break from watching all these asses, they turn to worrying about to how their sons and daughters did in the school play or the basketball game. They hope and pray their mother is ok after the outpatient surgery she was scheduled for. They smile and cry as they realize that right about now their little sister is walking down the aisle with her new husband. What I will be leaving behind pales in comparison to most. Those are the people I posted this video for; seemed like a simple way for us lefties to show our thanks and appreciation for the young men and women who answered their country’s call.

    I fully expect that each of you will fight with all you have to bring most of these people home by electing a Democrat to the White House. No matter what anyone says in the coming months, that is the most patriotic thing anyone in this country can do. I am permitted to carry along a few personal items. One will be a packet of grape kool-aid. You guys do all you can back here. On November 5, I will happily tear it open, mix it with some Afghan mountain water and drink a nice gritty toast to you all.

  4. jeffaregularworkinglawyer says:

    Koolaid — Best wishes for a safe return to you and all you serve with. I’m looking forward to reading your dispatches.

    I can only speak for myself as one lefty, but I have always felt that we do have legitimate interests in Afghanistan that justify both our initial decision to invade, and our continuing presence. One of my concerns about the Iraq war is that it has diverted resources and attention from our efforts in Afghanistan. But of course, soldiers don’t get to choose which wars they will fight.

    If Democrats are to be the party of compassion, then it seems that our compassion must extend to soldiers, veterans, and their families. The current occupant seems to be shockingly blase’ about things like inadequate armor for soldiers in the field, and inadequate medical care for wounded veterans. I’m glad to see Sen. Obama making the latter a campaign issue, and I hope that his election will make a difference.

  5. lbsmom says:

    I promise to do all I can to get a Dem in the White House, Koolaid, & I, too, thank you for serving. I’ll pray for your safety & strength of mind & look forward to seeing you again at Nevin’s when you get back! BTW, LB & her brothers used to drink lots of pink lemonade Koolaid when they were kids, but to each their own–enjoy your grape flavor…..

  6. robertlnelson says:

    Hey Koolaid – I will add my thanks to you and your fellow service members. It has been great to know you this year. We hope to hear a lot from you on the blog. And of course we do not need to remind you of the great things that await you upon your return, with your still fresh NU degree. Including a pint or two at Nevins.

    All the best.

  7. laurabethnielsen says:

    There are still a few weeks – plenty of time for pints before.

Leave a Reply

