Sports Quiz With Feminist Angle

What NU sports team has held the number 1 national ranking for 21 months?

If you promise not to cheat, I will again offer Guinness pints.

9 Responses to Sports Quiz With Feminist Angle

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    I KNOW!!!!!!!!

    And Koolaid told me!!! And he told Jeremy too!!!!!!

  2. lbsmom says:

    I don’t know the answer, but surely Jeff does.

  3. nobamakoolaid says:

    Yes, Koolaid knows…and Koolaid is thirsty.

  4. I know the answer too!

  5. jeffaregularworkinglawyer says:

    I do know, of course — it’s the team that wore flip-flops to the White House. Let’s hope they go back again this year. Congratulations to them on another great season, but I’d like to point out that my favorite Northwestern team, the softball team, also had another great year. They tied with Michigan for the Big Ten regular season championship, and are hosting the Big Ten tournament this weekend. See you there!

  6. robertlnelson says:

    OK, I am happy to buy everyone a pint. But, I should have asked what NU teams (plural) are ranked number 1? I know–you all knew already, right?

  7. briand0n0van says:

    Well, I know it’s not the NU debate team . . . (sorry, just had to say it . . .)
    http://www2.ljworld.com/news/2008/apr/26/ku_debaters_ranked_no_1_nation/

  8. nobamakoolaid says:

    Yes, Roberto. I believe the second team you speak of just won its 10th consecutive Big Ten title. And BTW, that first team we have been blogging about – no longer number 1 in the polls – at least for the moment; fell one spot as they head into the NCAA tournamet. No worries; they know how to take care of business.

    I actually do follow these and other teams at NU. I have a great deal of respect for these true student athletes. I have had many athletes in my own classes across many sports at NU. I have seen no evidence of an easier path for any of them; actually, just the opposite. The quarter system pushes everyone hard at NU. For those who have to operate within it while missing classes to participate in a sport that offers little or no scholarships has got to be especially hard. My hat is off to ’em all.

  9. vickywoeste says:

    I know, I know!!! (This week’s SI came today–is that cheating? At least I didn’t talk to koolaid . . .)

Leave a Reply

