Our Next President is coming to town TODAY

See, it’s like I’ve been telling you:  Lafayette, Indiana really IS the center of American democracy:  Barack is coming TODAY for a Town Hall meeting, which means this time I really COULD get the chance to ask a question.  Here’s the one I’ve come up with so far:

Senator Obama:  I believe that the Supreme Court never gets enough attention during Presidential campaigns.  I’m seriously concerned about what the Court has done in the past ten years to erode the rule of law in our democracy.  As a law professor yourself (and unlike your opponent, I’m happy to stipulate that part of your resume, even though you didn’t teach at Northwestern), can you tell me if you’d be in favor of term limits for Supreme Court Justices, or whether you’d impose them merely on Justices Scalia, Thomas, Roberts, and Alito?  (smirk)

The speech starts at 6.  I will try to post to the blog from the event.

 

6 Responses to Our Next President is coming to town TODAY

  1. lbsmom says:

    So, Vicky, how did it go? Did he respond to your question? Do tell……

  2. vickywoeste says:

    OH. MY. GOD. HE CAME, HE HEARD ME, HE CALLED ON ME. Of course, I had to jump up and down and wave my arms like a madwoman to get his attention, but in a democracy, you do what you gotta do.

    LB, the page won’t let me paste a picture here–

    Anyway, here is what I said, roughly: “Senator Obama, here’s a law question for you: I am entirely persuaded that you will change the presidency along the lines of what you’ve told us tonight–this progressive politics you’ve described. And I believe you’re going to have long coattails in this election and you’re going to bring a Democratic majority congress with you. So what I want to know is this: what will you do as president to bring the Supreme Court into this progressive politics that will change our democracy?” (The crowd–3000 people–burst into applause. I just about collapsed.)

    He answered that what he is most concerned about is the 2-5% of cases in which the Supreme Court is faced with decisions where there is no precedent to guide them. That’s where we really need justices on the Court who share our values and who care about making sure that the dispossessed get access to justice, particularly those who get shut out of the other two democratic institutions because they lack power or money: the poor, minorities, individuals, women, workers, etc. I honestly don’t now remember all he said. I’m going to tape our local evening news and then I’ll be able to blog some more.

    What you will want to take away from this is that our next president thinks I’m insane because after making an idiot of myself to get his attention, he finally called on me, and I go, “Me????” (like I’m a high school senior getting asked to the prom, geez.) I honestly couldn’t believe he had heard me, that he looked up at the balcony, that he saw me, and that he was picking me for the LAST QUESTION of the night. There went all my professional dignity. Thank god I held it together long enough to articulate my question before passing out from hyperventillation.

    Does this compare to LB’s mom getting to see a streaker in SF? Hmmmmm . . . no! This is way better! I think she’d agree!!!

  3. vickywoeste says:

    Here’s the video link: go to about the 28 minute mark: you can’t hear me, but you can definitely hear his answer!

  4. lbsmom says:

    Yea! I’m proud of you, Vicky! I’m so glad you asked that particular question, since it could really impact our kids & their kids’ futures. I’ll look at the video. At this point, I just read your comment. Congrats—-

  5. laurabethnielsen says:

    OH MY GOD!!! You are so cute!! And it is a good question — NAY a GREAT question. And, more importantly, THE BEST ANSWER!!!!!!!

  6. vickywoeste says:

    Someone posted video of his answer (but not me acting crazy wacko, sorry) on Youtube: http://youtube.com/watch?v=PACfWBUY3mA. It’s easier to get to than the TV video, which I’m hearing doesn’t work for a lot of people . . .

Leave a Reply

