The Romance of War

Your President, and mine, former member of the Texas Air National Guard (well, at least that’s what he claims), by video conference yesterday to military and civilian personnel in Afghanistan

“I must say, I’m a little envious,” Bush said. “If I were slightly younger and not employed here, I think it would be a fantastic experience to be on the front lines of helping this young democracy succeed.”

“It must be exciting for you … in some ways romantic, in some ways, you know, confronting danger. You’re really making history, and thanks,” Bush said.

Edit:  Here’s Fred Kaplan’s commentary

4 Responses to The Romance of War

  1. lbsmom says:

    Kaplan has some good ideas: Bush could go to Afghanistan on an aid mission or get a job with a consulting firm there (Cheney could help with that). I have an idea too—Bush could go to Afghanistan and clear some brush like he does at his Crawford ranch. But could he stand the heat of body armor? Is he brave enough to ride in an inadequately-armored vehicle?

    He sounds like Robert Duvall in “Apocalypse Now,” saying “I love the smell of napalm in the morning…” Sure, George, war is romantic and fun, just like in the movies.

  2. nobamakoolaid says:

    Nice post, LB. Doesn’t seem so romantic or fantastic from my point of view. I have tried at every opportunity to give this President the benefit of the doubt; to think that he at least believes what he is doing is right. But alas, he must be drinkin’ the koolaid ’cause that statement is just too bizarre to take. Romantic? Fantastic? Wow.

  3. laurabethnielsen says:

    If only I could take credit Kool. It’s Jeff. And I don’t think Bush is drinking the Koolaid, Koolaid; I think he is making it.

    But seriously, wow — so weirdly pathetic. In a way it makes me feel sorry for him because some day he might wake up and realize it wasn’t a movie and he is responsible (at least in very large part) for all of this death and destruction.

  4. jeannieweenie says:

    I also think bush is a doofus

Leave a Reply

