Don’t Turn Your Back on Bush

Admiral William Fallon (love his nickname–“Fox”) resigned as Chief of the US Central Command after a 41 year career. Was it because of the upcoming article in Esquire Magazine’s April edition where he’s critical of a possible war in Iraq? Mark Thompson, a writer for Time Magazine thinks so


 

6 Responses to Don’t Turn Your Back on Bush

  1. nobamakoolaid says:

    There is little doubt that the Admiral was forced to step down for political reasons. As members of the military, we are not permitted to publically voice our opinions; at least if there is the slightest possibility that someone may perceive our opinions as that of the military. For example, if I was to attend a pro-life rally on campus at NU while wearing my uniform, I would be in violation of the UCMJ. Officially, this applies to all members, from the lowliest E-1 up to the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs. Realistically, admirals and generals say whatever the hell they want. I think history shows that flag officers who speak out publically against the President can expect to retire soon. Remember MacArthur? As much as I disagree with many of the policies of this president (and I am not wearing a uniform, btw), I don’t see how this incident can be viewed as anything other than business as usual – unless you just feel like piling on during Bush’s last few months. If we have a Democratic in office one year from now, I would certainly expect flag officers to keep tight-lipped about any personal disagreements with him or her and carry out their orders.

  2. laurabethnielsen says:

    Boy, he has a lot of ribbons. That is my first reaction to this picture.

    I have always thought the first amendment issues in the military are really interesting — perhaps because I am such a freaking nerd about the first amendment. The rationale is good, but how it works out has troubling implications, sometimes.

    But don’t we think he knew what he was doing? And if so, it makes me have even more respect for the guy because he was willing to end his career to tell his truth.

    The interesting thing (as the article points out) is that Bush always claims he will “listen to the officers in the field about how to conduct the war.” I guess he wants to hear from the officers in some way other than a magazine article, though.

  3. nobamakoolaid says:

    Ha ha. Of course he knew what he was doing. He went out just as he wanted. With 41 years, he will receive full pay and benefits for the rest of his life. Believe me, as an admiral, he will be treated like a God everywhere he goes. He wasn’t exactly giving anything up to stand on his principals.
    And yes, LB, he has mucho ribbons. Interesting you should bring that up. A person’s “board” reveals his history to those in the know. One thing I noticed is that he only has two “sea service ribbons,” meaning he only spent two deployments at sea. I’m not sure how one spends 41 years in the Navy with only two sea deployments. I know people with less than five years that have three deployments – totally beside the point, but something I noticed as well.

  4. laurabethnielsen says:

    How many ribbons do you have Koolaid?

  5. nobamakoolaid says:

    Funny how a simple question can have so many undertones. I shall abstain from answering, thank you.

  6. laurabethnielsen says:

    Oh, I did not know it was loaded. Sorry —

Leave a Reply

