Like Hope . . But Diffferent – Thanks Ellen

8 Responses to Like Hope . . But Diffferent – Thanks Ellen

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    OK people — this makes me almost choke on laughter. It is freaking hilarious. If we can’t beat this guy, what the hell is our problem?

  2. nobamakoolaid says:

    Sorry LB, but I have to disagree. I’m still holding out hope (albeit misguided) that we can get through an election without being inundated with this kind of crap. So far the message has been positive and look at the energy it is creating. Here’s to the “Move On” and “Swift Boat” types sitting this one out – yeah right.

  3. nobamakoolaid says:

    I know its way out of fashion, but I prefer hearing about what a candidate is going to do as opposed to why we should not like another candidate. I will vote for the Democrat, regardless of who it is. But, I also have a great deal of respect for a man who endured over five years of torture in a Vietnamese prison and has spent his entire adult life in public service fighting for what he believes.
    I haven’t supported him to this point, but look at Barak’s speech from last night. Hell, take any of his speeches since last March. He keeps his message positive and actually inspires people to action. That is leadership. Having these groups sit on the sidelines taking potshots at candidates just diminishes the whole process.

  4. lankdangle says:

    The man deserves respect for what he’s been throgh and what he’s done for his country. No doubt about it.
    People have been sitting on the sidlines taking potshots from the begining of politics. For as long as I can remember (I’m 40) all I hear around election time is why not to like someone, or why not to vote for them. I think the benifit of this new comedic trend in political coverage is that it’s pulling more people in to the discussion. I know this video makes me think, ” did he really say that?” I know it was taken way out of context, but it makes me want to dig deeper to find out more about what Mc Cain is really all about.

  5. laurabethnielsen says:

    Hey — lankdangle — good points.

    the video is hilarious even if you like him. I thought those JibJab things were funny in the last election making fun of Kerry’s botox.

    and, you don’t really think the swift boat types are going to sit this one out, do you? So neither should the jon stewart types.

  6. nobamakoolaid says:

    Jon Stewart is an equal opportunity satirist. His stuff is just plain funny. While he does regularly take jabs, they are not typically meant to promote a particular point of view. It is the partisan players who completely misrepresent points of view and personally attack people with whom I have problems.

  7. I think we have to admit here that Jon Stewart isn’t exactly non-partisan. He may not be divisive like the swift boat ads, but he has an agenda all the same.

  8. lankdangle says:

    Yeah, I think it’s pretty clear what side of the fence John Stewart sits on. I also think without partisan players who completely misrepresent points of view and attack people’s charachter, John Stewart would be without a show. Steven Colbert as well. I can only speak for myself, but those shows have made me in interested in politics where before I was not. Being able to laugh about something really makes it easier to aproach. For me anyway. Just like Lewis Black says, “when we’ve lost our ability to laugh at ourselves,………. we’re pretty much fucked.”

Leave a Reply

