What other sh*t is the outgoing administration going to pull while we’re all distracted by the election?

This just in: Bush has just signed an executive order giving the President de facto line item veto power over any part of the 2009 budget. Yes, kids, that’s right, the 2009 budget, which takes effect 10/1/2008, a mere 3 months, 20 days prior to Inauguration Day, 2009. Would a President McCain (God forbid) sign an Executive Order countermanding this one? Would McCain or his WH counsel know about this 1998 USSC decision that took the line item veto away from President Clinton?

5 Responses to What other sh*t is the outgoing administration going to pull while we’re all distracted by the election?

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    Aww you stole my thunder by knowing about the Clinton case.

    It’s unconstitutional and they all know it. So, frankly, did Clinton although he had an argument to make the argument.

    Vicky — good lord woman, you have to learn to make the links. When you do, I’ll add you to the contributor’s list.

    PS — how do you like being censored by me? (that’s right folks, Vicky actually wrote shit in the title). What a potty-mouth. Unlike me, jsut ask my mom

  2. lbsmom says:

    LB, do you remember what you said when your first grade teacher, Ms. Stratton, who told you to sit like a lady? You told her you did NOT want to be a lady.

  3. vickywoeste says:

    holy crap, I thought I deleted my whole post by mistake and gave up in frustration. I didn’t know it POSTED. okay, next week you can show me in person how to make links. I can’t find the mechanism on the page. and I will say shit when I goddam well feel like it. these people drive me to the depths of unladylike behavior. my apologies to your mom and your 1st grade teacher.

    on the bright side, Margaret (who is home sick today) and I just came back from eating lunch out, where we sat next to 2 Purdue engineering Ph.D. students. One is from California (Ventura County) and the other from Columbia. I converted them both to Obama. Of course, the guy from Columbia can’t vote, but he was strongly supporting Hillary; he says the South Americans all are because they *loved* Bill. So even here in red-state land it is possible to meet people who are just as excited as we are at the prospect of a split Republican convention!

  4. dspett says:

    What is the source for this?

  5. vickywoeste says:

    David, once I learn how to link you won’t be in the dark as to my sources: http://www.alternet.org/blogs/peek/75992/

    which also cites to the E.O. the President signed, #13457, and the 1998 USSC decision, which you can read about here: http://www.cnn.com/ALLPOLITICS/1998/06/25/scotus.lineitem/.

Leave a Reply

