Criticizing Obama from the left

It’s been a while since I last posted (sorry! ::braces for whipping::), and it appears my good professor has since added a new category to her blog: “shameless plug.” Here comes one of mine: A week and a half ago I wrote this column in The Daily Northwestern and said, among other things, that Barack Obama just isn’t liberal enough for me. Predictably, most of the comments I received were negative. This is a college campus in Illinois, after all. (Oh, and please don’t mind the video. My first foray into multimedia journalism was quite embarrassing.)

You’ll notice that I offhandedly diss Hillary, too. Brownie points for any commenter who can guess which candidate(s) I supported back when there were 8 guys and gals in the Democratic race… and for anyone who can explain why on earth someone who says Barack Obama isn’t liberal enough is seriously considering voting for Mitt Romney in the Feb. 5 Illinois primary.

11 Responses to Criticizing Obama from the left

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    I’ll go for the bonus round: Kucinich. Did I win? Do I get half a point if I spelled it correctly? (which i am not even sure i did)

  2. laurabethnielsen says:

    Also, now that it seems like it will be McCain on the right, I think we want Obama more than ever. Isn’t Clinton vs. Mccain harder for us to win than Obama vs. McCain. Now that McCain is a lock, we have to think this through quickly.

  3. jeffaregularworkinglawyer says:

    You may not like Sen. Obama, but Hulk Hogan does. http://matthewyglesias.theatlantic.com/.

  4. laurabethnielsen says:

    OK Jeffaregularworkinglawyer — spill . . . Obama or Clinton for you?

  5. geoff2o0o says:

    My guess is that you supported Joe Biden. I guess that you could vote for Mitt Romney to oppose the Republican front runner, John McCain, but I think any vote for Mitt Romney is misguided if you’re as liberal as you say.

    In your article you say, “once politicians obtain power, they tend to listen more to their donor base than their voter base.” Romney’s voter base seems to be the most conservative and, if this is any indication, the far-right commentators at StoptheACLU.com have endorsed Romney in part because he would appoint the most conservative judges: http://stoptheaclu.com/archives/2008/01/28/which-candidate-can-we-trust-on-appointing-contituionalist-judges/.

  6. hegemonsadun says:

    You took the words out of my mouth! As an edwards guy, I’ve been making that argument every day!

  7. laurabethnielsen says:

    Yes, we should really have a moment of silence for the Edwards campaign.

  8. hegemonsadun says:

    So who does the Edwards vote go to?

    I’ve been trying to reconcile conflicting statistics that show Edwards’ votes going to Obama, and other saying Clinton. My theory is that on the coasts and North it will go to Obama, and in the ‘fly over states’ it will go to Clinton. My thinking is as follows:

    Edwards’ base had two camps. Despite being the most liberal and progressive viable candidate in the field, his supporters in Iowa, NH, and SC were moderate/conservative democrats. They were for the most part rural white’s who supported him not because of his policies but because of his personality. He spoke and looked liked them. And so it seems these conservative voters would have otherwise gone to Clinton – not Obama. An exit poll in Iowa confirms this very trend as it showed that Clinton (being more conservative than Obama) held a 20% advantage over Obama as the the second preference among Edwards voters.

    Meanwhile, a new CA poll has Obama having a 2 to 1 advantage for Edwards California base. Howcome? Well on the coasts, and in urban State’s nationwide, Edwards’ base consisted of those who were fans of his progressive policies. Ironically, it seems as though it is these upper middle class idealists who are most concerned with the rural poor. And so in California and urban State’s across the nation, I suspect these issue voters will go to next most progressive candidate – Obama.

    I think this rift within Edwards’ base explains why his candidacy had such a hard time gaining traction.

  9. dspett says:

    Congrats to Ben and LB: the correct answers are Edwards and Kucinich. And Geoff, you’re close on Romney — I agree that he’s a dreadful candidate, but the reason I’d vote for him is that he’d be FAR easier to beat than McCain. And I realize that this is potentially dangerous logic, but as LB points out… I’m not sure if Clinton can beat McCain.

    Re: where Edwards’ support goes, what I’ve read indicates it probably goes mostly (but nowhere near entirely) to Obama. See the following:
    http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/01/31/4-edwards-delegates-throw-support-to-obama/
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/31/us/politics/31edwards.html
    On that second one you’ll have to scroll down to ~7 paragraphs from the bottom to see the relevant info.

  10. dspett says:

    I just hope my fellow former Edwardites (what is the right term, anyway) don’t choose Obama because he’s more progressive than Hillary. He may talk like it, but the policy ideas just aren’t there.

  11. lbsmom says:

    I’ve been an Edwards supporter for years, & the grief goes on. Meanwhile, upon returning to California from Evanston 2 days ago, here I am with my absentee ballot in hand for Super Tuesday. Do I vote for Edwards to show where I stand, or must I choose between Clinton & Obama at this point? I agree, David, that Clinton sounds more progressive than Obama, but which has the best chance of beating McCain this fall? A Democrat in the White House matters most.

Leave a Reply

