airport absurdity and … Ebay?

 I’m a new poster/all-around blogger, so please go easy on me!  LBN asked me to do a post on food and law in Chicago, which I will do shortly.  First, I wanted to post about something about law and travel – about the ‘authorities’ that control our airport movements, or NTSA, to be more precise.  As many of us know, airport congestion and airline schedules have been particularly horrendous in the past year.  The New York Times recently hosted an awesome blog series, called Jet Lagged, on the thoughts of a half-dozen employees in the airline and airport industries: pilots, air traffic controllers, flight attendants, security experts, etc.  Conclusion: the industry is as negative an experience for those working within it as for the rest of us.  

Every time I’ve flown recently, I’ve particularly thought about the laws and regulations surrounding the so-called security system at airports.  Thinking about systems of in-and-out and looking at the large garbage bins of confiscated toothpaste led me my next question – what happens to all the stuff that is collected at the metal-shoe-Listerine detectors?  Who at the NTSA regulates how these items are confiscated, destroyed, or …. Sold?  A simple search on Ebay for ‘NTSA’ turns up 290 items, mainly corkscrews and pocket-knives (sold both individually and grouped in lots).  Who are these sellers, and how did they get ahold of these items? How is it that the NTSA seems to allowed to profit from our confiscated items?  In many ways, the system of airport security is designed and kept as it is to make us feel safe, whether or not we actually are, but this is beginning to feel even more like a theater of the absurd.

 

Editor’s note:  welcome to our new blogger!  We are starting to be a party!!!  Foodgirl, give me  alittle bio and I will add you to the right column.

One Response to airport absurdity and … Ebay?

  1. laurabethnielsen says:

    used nose hair clippers and fingernail scissors. no thanks. I feel like I need to santitize my entire body after just looking at them. Bleck!

Leave a Reply

