Ultimate post-modern pop song

So I am cleaning out my closet listening to Sound Opinions and they are talking about the ultimate post-modern pop song. They say it is a mash up. For old fogies like me who do not know what a mash up is, it is a bootlegged song that you record over withyour voice or that you play another song over creating a new song or “mash up.”  So, they guys play and recommend a particular mash up as the ultimate post-modern pop song and then encourage listeners to go get it before Michael Jackson finds out it is out there, because his music is illegally used in the mash up. If downloading this song violates the law, aren’t they inciting illegal activity? Being married to an artist, I take the possibility of owning one’s art pretty seriously. My kids’ college may depend on being able to sell this stuff!

5 Responses to Ultimate post-modern pop song

  1. lankdangle says:

    Listening to a mash up is like listening to both of my kids talk at once about the 2 different things they want. Personally I thinks it’s a nightmare for the ears, but I can totally see music heading in that direction. This morning both my boys had PSP’s and the computer going with a tv show on, they can’t get information fast enough. Either we’re raising a generation of fantastic multi-taskers, or a bunch of overstimulated screen junkies who can’t make a decision.

  2. […] laurabethnielsen wrote an interesting post today on Ultimate post modern pop songHere’s a quick excerptSo I am cleaning out my closet listening to Sound Opinions and they are talking about the ultimate post-modern pop song. They say it is a mash up. For old fogies like me who do not know what a mash up is, it is a bootlegged song that … […]

  3. laurabethnielsen says:

    How is it that every single one of my undergrads wants to write a thesis about this topic but not one of them will post a comment?

  4. cdf364 says:

    I’ve used mash-ups as a very effective teaching tool. In an Economic Sociology discussion section we were covering property rights. The mash-ups (I used two. One underground/unsanctioned and one that was “legal.”) stimulated some really interesting discussion about who owns the rights to music and what claims artists should be able to make over their “products” once they are released into the world.

    Personally, I’m very pro-mash-up. I find them aesthetically pleasing. There’s the novelty of trying to suss out the specific source material, but I also really appreciate the creation of a “new” thing. (I actually think it’s interesting to think about the “protections” the mash-up as a new artistic work might be afforded and how mash-up artists themselves think about property/copyright laws.) More often than not, when I’ve been really into a mash-up, it’s sent me back to the original source material…either to purchase it or reevaluate it with a new perspective.

  5. laurabethnielsen says:

    CDF: I have thought about this too — the mash up is itself a piece of art — can you legitimately make a claim of ownership. And also, how do I get in your class? sounds great.

Leave a Reply

